VITA

"It's nice to be able to surprise yourself while you're playing...."

Marcus Sukiennik sees himself as a wanderer between sound worlds. As a pianist, composer and arranger, he explores centuries of musical history with his work - and examines the developments of current listening habits.
Living in Cologne since 1993, the artist uses components of classical music and jazz, motifs of traditional folk songs as well as pop music elements.

Sukiennik writes arrangements of classical melodies, composes mainly for piano solo, occasionally also for jazz bands. As a bar pianist, he has also been playing contemporary background music for more than 25 years in a wide variety of venues, including artistic direction at the piano bar of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Cologne.

Between kicking, jazz and classical music

Born in the Rhineland, Sukiennik comes from a music-loving family. He takes up the piano at the age of 8, later founds a school band together with his brother and develops more and more his own style, influenced by jazz music. At that time, however, the young amateur musician is also preoccupied with a second passion: playing football. After some deliberation, he makes a choice - and decides in favour of music.

From 1987 Marcus Sukiennik studies jazz piano and classical piano in Hilversum, the Netherlands, with Karel Boehlee, Henk Elkerbout and Rob Madna. He completes further studies in composition/arrangement under the supervision of film composer and conductor Jurre Haanstra at the Conservatorium in Amsterdam between 1997-2011, as well as with jazz pianist and WDR big band leader Bill Dobbins at the Hochschule für Musik in Cologne.

Getting to the core

Sukiennik's artistic development is shaped by his encounter with the Cologne pianist and composer Eckart Wilkens in the early nineties. Their exchange leads him to an in-depth study of classical piano literature and variation works. It also awakens his interest in tracing the unifying element of music-making and its essential core beyond stylistics and forms of expression. As a pianist, Sukiennik has mastered a wide range of styles - what his pieces have in common though is simplicity, clarity and feeling.

To date, his published work includes 7 albums, several singles and 4 music books released on Sukiennik's own label Line 21. Among them, the most significant works are the big band project A Night In Tunisia Suite (2000), the piano solo album Atme Seele, heile - Breathe soul, heal - (2016) and the first live performance in front of an audience at LOFT Cologne in 2017 Beste Tage (Best days)..

For his compositions and arrangements, Sukiennik has been repeatedly honoured with the VDM Award and occupied top spots on the charts99 with his releases.

Marcus Sukiennik lectured combo and big band at the University of Duisburg, taught music history at the VHS Cologne and has been running his own piano school since 1993.

Selected projects

2010 to date: Pianist at Excelsior Hotel Ernst Cologne, since 2015 artistic director
2009-2017: Pianist at the Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
2014-2016: Pianist at the WDR Funkhaus Cologne
2000: Participation as pianist and composer at the MusikTriennale Cologne

VITA

„Es ist schön, wenn man sich selber beim Spielen überraschen kann.“

Marcus Sukiennik versteht sich als Wanderer zwischen den Klangwelten. Als Pianist, Komponist und Arrangeur erkundet er mit seinem Werk jahrhundertelange Musikgeschichte – und untersucht die Entwicklungen aktueller Hörgewohnheiten.
Seit 1993 in Köln sesshaft und tätig, bedient sich der Künstler Komponenten der Klassik und des Jazz, Motiven traditioneller Volkslieder ebenso wie popmusikalischen Elementen.

Sukiennik schreibt Bearbeitungen klassischer Melodien, komponiert überwiegend für Piano Solo, gelegentlich auch für Jazzbands. Als Barpianist spielt er außerdem seit mehr als 25 Jahren zeitgemäße Hintergrundmusik an den unterschiedlichsten Orten, unter anderem als künstlerischer Leiter in der Piano Bar des Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Köln.

Zwischen Kicken, Jazz und Klassik

Der gebürtige Rheinländer stammt aus einer musikbegeisterten Familie. Er nimmt das Klavierspiel im Alter von 8 Jahren auf, gründet später zusammen mit seinem Bruder eine Schülerband und entwickelt immer mehr einen eigenen, von Jazzmusik geprägten, Stil. Den jungen Hobbymusiker beschäftigt damals aber auch eine zweite Leidenschaft: Fußball spielen. Nach einigen Überlegungen trifft er die Wahl – und entscheidet sich für die Musik.

Marcus Sukiennik studiert ab 1987 Jazzklavier und klassisches Klavier im niederländischen Hilversum bei Karel Boehlee, Henk Elkerbout und Rob Madna. Weitere Studien im Fach Komposition / Arrangement absolviert er zwischen 1997–2011 unter Betreuung des Filmkomponisten und Dirigenten Jurre Haanstra am Conservatorium in Amsterdam sowie bei Jazzpianist und WDR-Bigband-Leiter Bill Dobbins an der Hochschule für Musik in Köln.

An den Kern herantasten

Prägend für Sukienniks künstlerische Entwicklung ist die Begegnung mit dem Kölner Pianisten und Komponisten Eckart Wilkens in den frühen Neunzigern. Ihr Austausch führt ihn zu einer vertieften Beschäftigung mit klassischer Klavierliteratur und Variationenwerken. Und weckt sein Interesse dafür, jenseits von Stilistiken und Ausdrucksformen, dem verbindenden Element des Musikmachens und seinem wesentlichen Kern nachzuspüren. So beherrscht Sukiennik als Pianist vielfältige Stile – was seine Stücke aber eint: Einfachheit, Klarheit, Gefühl.

Sein veröffentlichtes Werk umfasst bisher 7 Alben, einige Singles sowie 4 Notenhefte, die auf Sukienniks eigenem Label Linie 21 erschienen. Darunter zählen zu den bedeutendsten Werken das Bigband-Projekt A Night In Tunesia Suite (2000), das Piano-Solo-Album Atme Seele, heile (2016) und das erstmals 2017 im LOFT Köln live vor Publikum gespielte Beste Tage.

Für seine Kompositionen und Arrangements wurde Sukiennik wiederholt mit dem VDM Award ausgezeichnet und belegte mit seinen Veröffentlichungen erste Plätze in den charts99.

Marcus Sukiennik lehrte u. a. als Dozent für Combo und Big Band an der Universität Duisburg, unterrichtete Musikgeschichte an der VHS Köln und betreibt seit 1993 eine eigene Klavierschule.

Projektauswahl

2010 bis heute: Pianist im Excelsior Hotel Ernst Köln, seit 2015 künstlerische Leitung
2009-2017: Pianist im Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
2014-2016: Pianist im WDR Funkhaus Köln
2000: Mitwirkung als Pianist und Komponist bei der MusikTriennale Köln