fbpx

Ragtime by Scott Joplin & a Blues in a Minor Key

Precursor of jazz

After a series of releases of classical recordings at the turn of the year, this time it's back to the roots of jazz. And this time with a double release: This February my EP Ragtime - Marcus Sukiennik plays Scott Joplin as well as the first release of my own composition Shout Out Blues.

In addition to some background information on the selection of pieces, I would like to use this blog post to give a brief introduction to the origins and characteristics of ragtime piano.

"King of Ragtime" - Scott Joplin

He celebrated international success as one of the first African-American composers - Scott Joplin, the "King of Ragtime". I have recorded four of his most famous titles for my EP. At the same time they are my personal best-of: The Entertainer, Maple Leaf Rag, The Easy Winners and The Great Crush Collision March.

Scott Joplin was born in the 1860s in Texas, where he played as a bar pianist from a young age. In his early 30s, he wrote a piece that would go down as a milestone in music history: The printed sheet music of the Maple Leaf Rag sold more than a million copies after their release in 1899. That had never happened before.

A few years later, in 1902, Joplin composed what is probably his most popular piece today, The Entertainer. A nifty catchy tune that some will also recognize from the endless chase scenes of the animated series Tom and Jerry should be known. For all cineastes, with whom cartoons can score less: The rag became world-famous in 1973 through the hit film The Stingwhose soundtrack lives from Joplin's compositions. With it also The Easy Winners. Thanks to the successful soundtrack of the feature film, which is really worth seeing, ragtime experienced a real revival in the 1970s.

Let's move on to the last track I recorded for the EP. Scott Joplin dedicated The Great Crush Collision March a spectacular but tragic event. The march evokes the staged railroad accident of 1896, a marketing effort by the Texas Railroad Company that collided two locomotives head-on as a spectacle. An audience of several thousand had gathered for the event, but three people died in the explosion and several were injured.

Scott Joplin at about the age of 35.

Ragtime: history and characteristics

Ragtime originated in the African-American communities of St. Louis, Missouri. There the genre developed in the 1890s as dance and light music, whose popularity reached its peak at the turn of the 20th century - and eventually spilled over from the USA to Europe.
The name ragtime is derived from ragged time (Engl. "torn time"), due to the temporal shift between melody and accompaniment that is so characteristic of the style.

Musically, a lot comes together here: African rhythms, elements of African-American folklore as well as European classical music. The left hand jumps and plays a steady accompanying rhythm, while the syncopated melody line of the right hand with its small time offsets provides a special charm.

Ragtime is perceived today primarily as a piano style, but was originally also played on other instruments and in ensembles. It was considered utility music - Joplin wanted to bring his rags to the stage in the concert hall, he wrote among other things two operas, but unfortunately they received little attention during his lifetime.

From ragtime to blues and jazz

The era of ragtime ended around 1917 with the death of Scott Joplin. New genres emerged from it, and precursors of jazz, such as stride piano and blues, enjoyed increasing popularity. While there are clear parallels between stride piano and ragtime, one major difference is that ragtime is note-based, composed music - in contrast to Harlem stride, which is characterized by elements of improvisation.

Two examples of stride piano can be found on my album All-Time Standards:
Satin Doll and Honey Suckle Rose.

Album Cover "Ragtime, Marcus Sukiennik plays Scott Joplin"
Album Cover Shout Out Blues

New releases in February 2021

  • EP Ragtime - Marcus Sukiennik plays Scott Joplin will be released on 05.02. and the single track Shout Out Blues on 19.02.2021 on streaming portals respectively for download
  • Video New Releases February 1 & 2 on YouTube
  • Learning video (on the hands view)
  • Shout Out Blues Leadsheet C part PDF (melody with chord symbols)

Ragtime von Scott Joplin & ein Blues in Moll

Vorläufer des Jazz

Nach einer Veröffentlichungsreihe von Klassik-Einspielungen zur Jahreswende geht es dieses Mal zurück zu den Wurzeln des Jazz. Und zwar gleich mit einem Doppel-Release: Diesen Februar erscheint meine EP Ragtime – Marcus Sukiennik plays Scott Joplin sowie die Erstveröffentlichung meiner Eigenkomposition Shout Out Blues.

Neben einigen Hintergrundinfos zu der Stückauswahl möchte ich mit diesem Blogbeitrag eine kleine Einführung in Entstehung und Merkmale von Ragtime Piano geben.

„King of Ragtime“ – Scott Joplin

Er feierte als einer der ersten afroamerikanischen Komponisten internationale Erfolge – Scott Joplin, der „King of Ragtime“. Vier seiner bekanntesten Titel habe ich für meine EP eingespielt. Gleichzeitig sind sie mein persönliches Best-of: The Entertainer, Maple Leaf Rag, The Easy Winners und The Great Crush Collision March.

Geboren wurde Scott Joplin in den 1860er Jahren in Texas, wo er bereits in jungen Jahren als Barpianist spielte. Mit Anfang 30 schrieb er ein Stück, das als Meilenstein in die Musikgeschichte eingehen sollte: Die gedruckten Notenblätter des Maple Leaf Rag verkauften sich nach ihrem Release im Jahr 1899 mehr als eine Millionen Mal. Das hatte es zuvor nicht gegeben.

Wenige Jahre später, 1902, komponierte Joplin sein heute wohl populärstes Stück, The Entertainer. Ein raffinierter Ohrwurm, der einigen auch aus den endlosen Verfolgungsjagden der Zeichentrickserie Tom und Jerry bekannt sein dürfte. Für alle Cineast*innen, bei denen Cartoons weniger punkten können: Weltberühmt wurde der Rag im Jahr 1973 durch den Kinohit The Sting, dessen Soundtrack von den Kompositionen Joplins lebt. Mit dabei auch The Easy Winners. Dank der gelungenen Vertonung des wirklich sehenswerten Spielfilms erfuhr Ragtime in den 1970ern ein regelrechtes Revival.

Kommen wir zum letzten Stück, das ich für die EP aufgenommen habe. Scott Joplin widmete The Great Crush Collision March einem spektakulären, aber tragischen Ereignis. Der Marsch ruft den inszenierten Eisenbahnunfall von 1896 hervor, eine Marketingaktion der Texaner Eisenbahngesellschaft, die als Spektakel zwei Lokomotiven frontal zusammenstoßen ließ. Ein Publikum von mehreren Tausenden hatte sich zu dem Ereignis versammelt, drei Menschen starben jedoch bei der Explosion und mehrere wurden verletzt.

Scott Joplin im Alter von ungefähr 35 Jahren

Ragtime: Geschichte und Merkmale

Ragtime hat seinen Ursprung in den afroamerikanischen Communities von St. Louis, Missouri. Dort entwickelte sich das Genre in den 1890ern als Tanz- und Unterhaltungsmusik, deren Beliebtheit ihren Höhepunkt zur Wende des 20. Jahrhunderts erreichte – und von den USA schließlich bis nach Europa rüber schwappte.
Der Name Ragtime leitet sich von ragged time (dt. „zerrissene Zeit“) ab, zurückzuführen auf die zeitliche Verschiebung zwischen Melodie und Begleitung, die so markant für den Stil ist.

Musikalisch kommt hier einiges zusammen: Afrikanische Rhythmen, Elemente der afroamerikanischen Folklore sowie der europäischen Klassik. Die linke Hand springt und spielt einen gleichmäßigen begleitenden Rhythmus, während die synkopierte Melodieführung der rechten mit ihren kleinen Zeitversetzungen für einen besonderen Charme sorgt.

Ragtime wird heute vor allen Dingen als Klavierstil wahrgenommen, wurde ursprünglich aber auch auf anderen Instrumenten und im Ensemble gespielt. Sie galt als Gebrauchsmusik – Joplin wollte seine Rags auf die Bühne in den Konzertsaal bringen, er schrieb unter anderem zwei Opern, die jedoch zu seinen Lebzeiten leider wenige Beachtung fanden.

Von Ragtime zu Blues und Jazz

Die Ära des Ragtime endete um 1917 mit dem Tode Scott Joplins. Aus ihr gingen neue Genres hervor, Vorläufer des Jazz, wie Stride-Piano und Blues erfreuten sich einer zunehmenden Beliebtheit. Während sich ganz klare Parallelen zwischen Stride-Piano und Ragtime aufweisen lassen, liegt ein großer Unterschied darin, dass Ragtime notengebundene, komponierte Musik ist – im Gegensatz zum Harlem Stride, den Elemente der Improvisation prägen.

Zwei Beispiele für Stride-Piano finden Sie auf meinem Album All-Time Standards:
Satin Doll und Honey Suckle Rose.

Album Cover "Ragtime, Marcus Sukiennik plays Scott Joplin"
Album Cover Shout Out Blues

Neuerscheinungen im Februar 2021

  • EP und Single-Track auf Streaming-Portalen bzw. zum download
  • Video Neuerscheinungen Februar 1 & 2
  • Lern-Video (auf die Hände Ansicht)
  • Shout Out Blues Leadsheet C-Stimme PDF (Melodie mit Akkordsymbolen)
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin