fbpx

100 years German national anthem

100 years German national anthem

New release of my editing

On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the German National Anthem, I have re-recorded my arrangement and released it today, Sept. 30, 2022, on the popular streaming platforms.

The sound is now at the very latest quality level. Enjoy it. 

Album-Cover Deutsche Nationalhymne (2022)
Album cover German national anthem (2022)

Detailed blog post

More about the German National Anthem in my detailed blog post: The German national anthem - former imperial song

The GermanNationalhmyne (2022) Release Overview

  • Audio track on popular streaming portals 
  • Learning video (on the hands view)
  • Piano sheet music in store

Familiar song form: classical-pop crossover in the piano bar 

Familiar song form: classical-pop crossover in the piano bar

The cliché of the egocentric composer who hangs over his sheet music in a quiet chamber, kissed by the muse and creating a new, unique masterpiece, persists to this day. What this image fails to mention, however, is that adaptations and variations of original and third-party compositions were also widespread in Bach's and Mozart's day.

For me, this is an essential core of making music: to exchange ideas, to enter into a dialogue. Besides composing my own pieces, I take great pleasure in writing arrangements of classical melodies or many a folk song.

My new release, the series Piano Classicsbrings together two spheres that, at first glance, have little in common: classical works from the Renaissance and Baroque periods and bar music. A classical-pop crossover, so to speak.

Song form and variation in music history

Let's go back in the history of music once again. Variation works and songs are among the oldest forms of music. The special thing is: songs connect all times - from Renaissance and Baroque to contemporary pop music. Music lives from the exchange and modification of existing motifs, it lives from the interrelation between form and opening. Variations shaped the practice of the old classical masters as well as that of musicians in blues and jazz and the remix culture in pop music.

The song form with its repetitive elements is firmly anchored in our culture; its simple structure and catchy melodies shape our listening habits from an early age.

Classical-Pop-Crossover: Bach, Rameau and Telemann in the Pianobar

In my career as a pianist, I have played my way through a diverse spectrum of classical piano literature and enriched my repertoire over the years with very different works by classical composers. This repertoire forms the starting point for my selection of arrangements of Piano Classics. Thus, although the song form is in the foreground here, not all pieces, which are based on Piano Classicsappear were composed by their original authors in the song form. Thus, some of the melodies also come from larger works, from whose context I have extracted them.

Piano Classics 1 already appeared in 2014 as CD. With this re-release you can now look forward to an especially good recording quality in High-Resolution Audio. The compilation includes arrangements by Johann Pachelbel, François Couperin, Georg Philipp Telemann and others. Some pieces are slightly altered, some quite considerably. For example, the song "Die Muse küsst zartbitter", an arrangement of Couperin's "La muse platine".

Piano Classics 2 then continues the classical-pop crossover in chronological order. Included are melodies by Jean-Philippe Rameau, J. S. Bach, George Frideric Handel and Domenico Scarlatti, among others.

By the way, you can also find some of the originals to the arrangements in my classical music series Living sound world listen

Music goes through the stomach

I usually play the pieces at the main dinner time in the piano bar of the Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Cologne. And the Piano Classics are also well received at the Piano Brunch. Although the original pieces are not familiar to most listeners, their translation into song form creates an atmosphere that is familiar and unobtrusively creates an ideal space for food and stimulating conversation.

Even classical concertgoers are usually more familiar with the orchestral pieces of the old masters and less with pieces from the piano literature. An exception is the song "Bach.a.rach", to be found on Piano Classics 2. This is an arrangement of the first minuet in G major from the little music book for Anna Magdalena Bach - a piece that almost everyone who has learned to play the piano has practiced at some point.

The most reactions can probably be caught during the "Country Shuffle March". This is not only reflected in many a rhythmic movement of the guests, even those present who merely walk past the piano bar run elatedly.

New releases in March and April

Piano Classics 1 will be released as a digital re-release in High-Resolution Audio on March 18, 2022. The initial release of Piano Classics 2 follows next month on 08.04.2022.

You can listen to both compilations on the most popular streaming platforms: 

Piano Classics 1 

Piano Classics 2

A continuation of the Piano Classics-series is planned, by the way. A little foretaste: Haydn, Schubert and Mendelssohn are some of the familiar names you will hear on Piano Classics 3 will find. With further arrangements of romantic pieces (including Grieg, Schumann and Chopin) also closes Piano Classics 4 chronologically to the series.

Stay healthy - and maybe see you at the Pianobar sometime soon.

Sincerely
Marcus Sukiennik

Album Cover Piano Classics 1

New releases in the month of March and April

  • Piano Classics 1 & 2 appear on the popular streaming portals
  • YouTube release video
  • Learning video (on the hands view)
  • Piano sheet music printed as music album (Piano Classics 1) and as PDF (both albums) in my store 
  • Leadsheet C part - melody with chord symbols - printed (Piano Classics 1) and as PDF (both albums)

Favourite pieces from classical and neoclassical music

Favourite pieces from classical and neoclassical music

There are these classic melodies that we encounter everywhere: in the café, as background music of a commercial, in waiting loops, as a ringtone. Catchy melodies that we never tire of hearing. From baroque catchy tunes like Bach's Prelude in C Major from the Well-Tempered Clavier to Yann Tiersen's film music for The Fabulous World of Amélie. Much played and much loved - that's what the pieces I'm releasing this fall in three new releases have in common.

This blog article today is about popular favorites, music and well-being, and catchy movie tunes. Among other things, it's about music that focuses on the piano in the classical tradition: so-called neoclassical music.

Classical music for the piano bar

When I play in the piano bar or at events, there are a handful of classical pieces that are always requested by guests. One of them is Beethoven's For Elise. To my amazement, there are also many young people who want this "oldie".

What is the fascination of these favorite pieces? On the one hand, it's their catchiness, which is recognizable, but also their emotional dimension, which lets you discover something new every time you hear them. I recently wrote an arrangement of a classic piece that fascinates me myself, which is now available as a digital release: Pachelbel's Canon in D. The piece for piano solo begins in the classical tradition, but develops into an airy, dreamy arrangement as it progresses.

Pioneers of neoclassicism

Which brings us to one of the keywords of neoclassicism: Because it often invites you to dream. With the release of my EP Beloved Piano Songs released the first single of a new series dedicated to popular tracks of the genre.

To kick things off, there are pieces from an early neoclassical milestone that continues to touch an international audience with its melancholic sounds 20 years after its release: Yann Tiersen's iconic soundtrack for The Fabulous World of Amélie. The music of the Japanese composer Joe Hisaishi, world famous for his film music to the popular anime of the production house Studio Ghibli, does something similar. For publication I have chosen and recorded his especially beautiful track Summer.

Pianist Marcus Sukiennik, classical and neoclassical music

What is neoclassicism?

The term neoclassicism was coined as a current by the music journalism of the 00s. However, it does not describe a fixed school, but rather a loose designation for a musical style that mixes elements of classical music with pop, jazz or even electronic music. The focus is clearly on a classical instrument: the piano.

Many of the neoclassical pieces are characterized by consonant harmonies and short repetitive segments of catchy melodies. It is about a very conscious reduction of compositional means. Names such as John Cage and Philip Glass, but also Eric Satie or Frédéric Chopin are therefore often mentioned as influencers.

Most neoclassical composers are also pianists. Among the best-known representatives of neoclassical music are Ludovico Einaudi, Max Richter, Nils Frahm, Ólafur Arnalds, Yann Tiersen, Jóhann Jóhannson and Yiruma. However, neoclassical music does not only include piano music; other instrumentalists are also active in this field. For example, the Icelandic cellist Hildur Guðnadóttir, whose film music for the film Joker 2019 Oscar winner, among others.

The neoclassical artists are sometimes celebrated like pop stars. Einaudi currently has 5.5 million monthly listeners on Spotify - the same number as Janet Jackson's listeners, for example.

Neoclassicism: Between Philharmonic and Pop

But why is neoclassicism now actually so popular and excites so many people? First of all, it is relatively simple. Minimalism and repetition make many neoclassical compositions catchy pieces that quickly seem familiar. They are often characterized by atmospheric sounds, they transport moods and are therefore particularly suitable as film music, among other things.

Nowadays, music is listened to even more often than in the past by many people, primarily for relaxation. In the office, during dinner, while doing housework, for example. Unobtrusive and atmospheric, neoclassical music gives you the space to perceive it pleasantly in the background or to engage with it completely and immerse yourself in it. In recent years, neoclassical artists have also been responsible for attracting new audiences to classical concert halls. It offers a new approach to people who might not otherwise have anything to do with classical music.

Incidentally, it is a fallacy that classical music was never background music during the lifetime of Beethoven and co - for it was also played at times for the amusement of the princely court. But it's also clear that neoclassical music is a genre that divides and is both celebrated and ridiculed. What do you think of neoclassical music?

New publications in autumn

My EP Classical music for the piano bar will be released on 08.10.21, the single Canon in D for Piano Solo shortly thereafter on 22 October. On 05 November the Beloved Piano Songs 1 - as always to be heard on all major music streaming portals.

Hope you all have a golden autumn and stay healthy.

Sincerely
Marcus Sukiennik

Album Cover EP Classic for the Piano Bar
Album Cover Canon in D
Album Cover EP Beloved Piano Songs 1

New releases autumn 2021

  • Release EP Classic for the Piano Bar on 08.10.2021
  • Release Canon in D on 22.10.2021
  • Release EP Beloved Piano Songs 1 on 05.11.2021
  • Piano sheet music Canon in D PDF in my shop

fbpx

100 Jahre Deutsche Nationalhymne

100 Jahre Deutsche Nationalhymne

Neuerscheinung meiner Bearbeitung

Anlässlich des 100-jährigen Jubiläums der Deutschen Nationalhymne habe ich meine Bearbeitung neu eingespielt und heute, am 30.09.2022, auf den gängigen Streaming-Plattformen veröffentlicht.

Der Klang ist jetzt auf dem allerneuesten Qualitätsniveau. Genießen Sie es. 

Album-Cover Deutsche Nationalhymne (2022)
Album-Cover Deutsche Nationalhymne (2022)

Ausführlicher Blogbeitrag

Mehr zur Deutschen Nationalhymne in meinem ausführlichen Blog-Beitrag: Die Deutsche Nationalhymne – ehemaliges Kaiserlied

Die DeutscheNationalhmyne (2022) Release Übersicht

  • Audio-Track auf den gängigenStreaming-Portalen 
  • Lern-Video (auf die Hände Ansicht)
  • Klaviernoten im Shop

Vertraute Liedform: Klassik-Pop-Crossover in der Pianobar 

Vertraute Liedform: Klassik-Pop-Crossover in der Pianobar

Das Klischee des egozentrischen Komponisten, der abgeschottet im stillen Kämmerlein über seinen Notenblättern hängt und von der Muse geküsst ein neues einmaliges Meisterwerk schafft, hält sich bis heute. Was bei diesem Bild aber zu kurz kommt: Auch Bearbeitungen und Variationen von Eigen- sowie Fremdkompositionen waren zu Bachs und Mozarts Zeiten weit verbreitet.

Für mich ist dies ein wesentlicher Kern des Musikmachens: sich auszutauschen, in einen Dialog zu treten. Neben dem Komponieren eigener Stücke, schreibe ich mit großem Vergnügen Bearbeitungen klassischer Melodien oder auch so mancher Volkslieder.

Mein neues Release, die Reihe Piano Classics, bringt zwei Sphären zusammen, die auf den ersten Blick eher weniges gemein haben: klassische Werke der Renaissance- sowie Barockzeit und Barmusik. Ein Klassik-Pop-Crossover sozusagen.

Liedform und Variation in der Musikgeschichte

Gehen wir noch einmal in der Musikgeschichte zurück. Variationenwerke und Lieder zählen zu den ältesten Musikformen. Das Besondere ist: Lieder verbinden alle Zeiten – von Renaissance und Barock bis in die zeitgenössische Popmusik. Musik lebt vom Austausch und von der Modifikation bestehender Motive, sie lebt von der Wechselbeziehung zwischen Form und Öffnung. Variationen prägten ebenso die Praxis alter klassischer Meister wie auch die der Musiker*innen im Blues und Jazz sowie die Remix-Kultur in der Popmusik.

Die Liedform mit ihren wiederholenden Elementen ist fest in unserer Kultur verankert, ihr simpler Aufbau und ihre eingängigen Melodien prägen unsere Hörgewohnheiten von klein auf.

Klassik-Pop-Crossover: Bach, Rameau und Telemann in der Pianobar

In meiner Laufbahn als Pianist habe ich mich mittlerweile durch ein vielseitiges Spektrum der klassischen Klavierliteratur durchgespielt und mein Repertoire über die Jahre um ganz unterschiedliche Werke klassischer Komponist*innen bereichert. Dieses Repertoire bildet die Ausgangslage für meine Auswahl der Bearbeitungen von Piano Classics. So steht die Liedform hier zwar im Vordergrund, nicht alle Stücke aber, die auf Piano Classicserscheinen, wurden von ihren ursprünglichen Urhebern in der Liedform verfasst. So stammen einige der Melodien auch aus größeren Werken, aus deren Kontext ich sie herausgelöst habe.

Piano Classics 1 erschien bereits 2014 als CD. Bei diesem Re-Release können Sie sich nun auf eine besonders gute Aufnahmequalität in High-Resolution Audio freuen. Die Kompilation umfasst Bearbeitungen von Johann Pachelbel, François Couperin, Georg Philipp Telemann und anderen. Einige Stücke sind leicht, manche auch ziemlich beträchtlich verändert. Zum Beispiel der Song „Die Muse küsst zartbitter“, eine Bearbeitung von Couperins „La muse platine“.

Piano Classics 2 setzt das Klassik-Pop-Crossover dann in chronologischer Reihe fort. Mit dabei sind unter anderem Melodien von Jean-Philippe Rameau, J. S. Bach, Georg Friedrich Händel und Domenico Scarlatti.

Einige der Originale zu den Bearbeitungen können Sie übrigens auch in meiner Klassikreihe Lebendige Tonwelt hören.

Musik geht durch den Magen

Gewöhnlicherweise spiele ich die Stücke zur Hauptessenszeit in der Piano Bar des Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Köln. Und auch beim Piano Brunch kommen die Piano Classics gut an. Denn obwohl die Originalstücke den meisten Zuhörer*innen nicht bekannt sind, schafft ihre Übertragung in die Liedform eine Atmosphäre, die vertraut ist und unaufdringlich einen idealen Raum für Essen und anregende Gespräche kreiert.

Selbst klassische Konzertgänger*innen sind meistens eher mit den Orchesterstücken der alten Meister bekannt und weniger mit Stücken aus der Klavierliteratur. Eine Ausnahme bildet der Song „Bach.a.rach“, zu finden auf Piano Classics 2. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Bearbeitung des ersten Menuetts in G-Dur aus dem Notenbüchlein für Anna Magdalena Bach – ein Stück, dass fast jede*r der/die Klavierspielen gelernt hat, irgendwann einmal selbst geübt hat.

Die meisten Reaktionen lassen sich wohl beim „Country Shuffle March“ erhaschen. Das zeigt sich nicht nur in so manch rhythmischer Bewegung der Gäste, auch Anwesende, die lediglich an der Pianobar vorbeigehen, laufen beschwingt.

Neuerscheinungen im März und April

Piano Classics 1 erscheint als digitales Re-Release in High-Resolution Audio am 18.03.2022. Die Erstveröffentlichung von Piano Classics 2 folgt darauf im nächsten Monat am 08.04.2022.

Reinhören können Sie in beide Kompilationen auf den gängigen Streaming-Plattformen: 

Piano Classics 1 

Piano Classics 2

Eine Fortsetzung der Piano Classics-Reihe ist übrigens geplant. Ein kleiner Vorgeschmack: Haydn, Schubert und Mendelssohn sind einige der bekannten Namen, die Sie auf Piano Classics 3 finden werden. Mit weiteren Bearbeitungen romantischer Stücke (u. a. Grieg, Schumann und Chopin) schließt auch Piano Classics 4 chronologisch an die Reihe an.

Bleiben Sie gesund – und vielleicht bis auf irgendwann bald in der Pianobar.

Herzlichst
Marcus Sukiennik

Album Cover Piano Classics 1

Neuerscheinungen im Monat März und April

  • Piano Classics 1 & 2 erscheinen auf  den gängigen Streaming-Portalen
  • YouTube Release Video
  • Lern-Video (auf die Hände Ansicht)
  • Klaviernoten als Notenalbum gedruckt (Piano Classics 1) und als PDF (beide Alben) in meinem Shop 
  • Leadsheet C-Stimme – Melodie mit Akkordsymbolen – gedruckt (Piano Classics 1) und als PDF (beide Alben)

Lieblingsstücke aus Klassik und Neoklassik

Lieblingsstücke aus Klassik und Neoklassik

Es gibt diese klassischen Melodien, die einem überall begegnen: im Café, als Hintergrundmusik eines Werbespots, in Warteschleifen, als Klingelton. Eingängige Melodien, die wir nicht müde werden zu hören. Von barocken Ohrwürmern wie Bachs Präludium in C-Dur aus dem Wohltemperierten Klavier hin zu Yann Tiersens Filmmusik für Die fabelhafte Welt der Amélie. Viel gespielt und viel geliebt – das haben die Stücke gemeinsam, die ich diesen Herbst in drei Neuerscheinungen veröffentliche.

In diesem Blogartikel geht es heute um populäre Lieblingsstücke, um Musik und Wohlbefinden und um eingängige Filmmelodien. Es geht unter anderem um eine Musik, bei der ganz in der klassischen Tradition das Klavier im Fokus steht: die sogenannte Neoklassik.

Klassik für die Pianobar

Wenn ich in der Pianobar oder auf Veranstaltungen spiele, gibt es eine Handvoll an klassischen Stücken, die immer wieder von Gästen angefragt werden. Eines davon ist Beethovens Für Elise. Zu meiner Verwunderung sind es auch viele junge Menschen, die sich diesen „Oldie“ wünschen.

Worin liegt die Faszination dieser Lieblingsstücke? Es ist zum einen ihre Eingängigkeit, die wiedererkennen, aber auch ihre emotionale Dimension, die bei jedem Mal hören etwas Neues entdecken lässt. Von einem Klassiker, der mich selbst fasziniert, habe ich zuletzt eine Bearbeitung geschrieben, die nun als digitale Veröffentlichung erscheint: Pachelbels Canon in D. Das Stück für Piano Solo beginnt ganz im Sinne der klassischen Tradition, entwickelt sich im Verlauf aber zu einem luftig-verträumten Arrangement.

Pioniere der Neoklassik

Womit wir auch schon bei einem Stichwort der Neoklassik angekommen wären: Denn zum Träumen lädt diese oftmals ein. Mit dem Release meiner EP Beloved Piano Songs veröffentliche die erste Auskopplung einer neuen Reihe, die sich beliebten Stücken des Genres verschreibt.

Zum Auftakt gibt es Stücke aus einem frühen Meilenstein der Neoklassik, der mit seinen melancholischen Klängen auch 20 Jahre nach Erscheinen noch eine internationale Hörerschaft berührt: Yann Tiersens ikonischer Soundtrack für Die fabelhafte Welt der Amélie. Ähnliches vermag die Musik des japanischen Komponisten Joe Hisaishi, weltbekannt geworden vor allen Dingen durch seine Filmmusik zu den populären Animes des Produktionshauses Studio Ghibli. Zur Veröffentlichung ausgesucht und eingespielt habe ich seinen besonders schönen Track Summer.

Pianist Marcus Sukiennik, Klassik und Neoklassik

Was ist Neoklassik?

Der Begriff Neoklassik wurde als Strömung durch den Musikjournalismus der 00er Jahre geprägt. Er beschreibt dabei aber keine feste Schule, sondern eher eine lose Bezeichnung für eine Musikrichtung, die Elemente der klassischen Musik mit Pop, Jazz oder auch elektronischer Musik mischt. Ganz deutlich steht dabei ein klassisches Instrument im Fokus: das Klavier.

Viele der neoklassischen Stücke zeichnen sich durch eine konsonante Harmonik und kurze wiederholende Segmente eingängiger Melodien aus. Es geht um eine ganz bewusste Reduktion der kompositorischen Mittel. Als Einflussgebende werden daher häufig Namen wie John Cage und Philip Glass, aber auch Eric Satie oder Frédéric Chopin genannt.

Die meisten neoklassischen Komponist*innen sind zugleich Pianist*innen. Zu den bekanntesten Vertretern der Neoklassik gehören Ludovico Einaudi, Max Richter, Nils Frahm, Ólafur Arnalds, Yann Tiersen, Jóhann Jóhannson und Yiruma. Zur Neoklassik zählt aber nicht ausschließlich Klaviermusik, auch andere Instrumentalist*innen bewegen sich in ihrem Feld. So beispielsweise die isländische Cellistin Hildur Guðnadóttir, deren Filmmusik zu Joker 2019 unter anderem mit einem Oscar ausgezeichnet wurde.

Gefeiert werden die neoklassischen Künstler*innen mitunter wie Popstars. Einaudi hat aktuell 5,5 Millionen monatliche Hörer*innen bei Spotify – das sind genauso viele wie zum Beispiel die Hörerschaft von Janet Jackson.

Neoklassik: Zwischen Philharmonie und Pop

Aber warum ist Neoklassik jetzt eigentlich so beliebt und begeistert so viele Menschen? Zunächst einmal ist sie relativ einfach gestrickt. Minimalismus und Wiederholungen machen viele neoklassische Kompositionen zu eingängigen Stücken, die schnell vertraut wirken. Häufig zeichnen sie sich durch atmosphärische Klänge aus, sie transportieren Stimmungen und eignen sich daher unter anderem auch als Filmmusik besonders gut.

Gehört wird Musik heutzutage noch häufiger als früher von vielen Menschen vor allem zur Entspannung. Im Büro, während des Essens, bei der Hausarbeit zum Beispiel. Unaufdringlich und stimmungsvoll lässt neoklassische Musik einem den Raum, sie angenehm im Hintergrund wahrzunehmen oder sich ganz auf sie einzulassen und in sie einzutauchen. Auch haben neoklassische Künstler*innen in den letzten Jahren dafür gesorgt, ein neues Publikum in klassische Konzertsäle zu ziehen. Menschen, die mit Klassik sonst vielleicht eher nichts am Hut haben, bietet sie einen neuen Zugang.

Übrigens ist es ein Trugschluss, dass klassische Musik zu Lebzeiten von Beethoven und Co nie Hintergrundmusik war – denn auch sie wurde zu Zeiten für die Ergötzung am fürstlichen Hofe gespielt. Klar ist aber auch: Neoklassik ist ein Genre, das spaltet und ebenso gefeiert wie auch belächelt wird. Was halten Sie von neoklassischer Musik?

Neuerscheinungen im Herbst

Meine EP Klassik für die Pianobar erscheint am 08.10.21, die Single Canon in D for Piano Solo kurz darauf am 22. Oktober. Am 05. November erscheinen die Beloved Piano Songs 1 – wie immer zu hören auf allen großen Musikstreaming-Portalen.

Ihnen allen hoffentlich einen goldenen Herbst und bleiben Sie gesund.

Herzlichst
Marcus Sukiennik

Album Cover EP Klassik für die Piano Bar
Album Cover Canon in D
Album Cover EP Beloved Piano Songs 1

Neuerscheinungen Herbst 2021

  • Release EP Klassik für die Piano Bar am 08.10.2021
  • Release Canon in D am 22.10.2021
  • Release EP Beloved Piano Songs 1 am 05.11.2021
  • Klaviernoten Canon in D PDF in meinem Shop